Through Aching Aeons

Marketing Highlights

  1. Formed as early as 1989, DESULTORY was one of the few pioneering Death Metal bands to come out of Stockholm, Sweden.

  2. DESULTORY quickly went on to record three demos between ’90 and ’91, namely “From Beyond” (1990), “Death Unfolds” (1990) and “Visions” (1991).

  3. The phenomenal “Forever Gone” EP was recorded in 1991 before DESULTORY got picked up by Metal Blade for a three-album deal.

  4. “Through Aching Aeons” was recorded, mixed and mastered by Tore Stjerna at Necromorbus Studio (Watain, Repugnant, Portrait, Tribulation, etc).

  5. The album artwork and layout was done by French graphic artist Pierre-Alain D at 3mmi Design (Kamelot, Necrodeath, etc).

  6. "Through Aching Aeons" will be DESULTORY's last ever studio effort.

  7. For every fan of old-school Swedish Death Metal!


Desultory was part of the first wave of Swedish death metal bands, alongside Entombed, Dismember, and others. Into Eternity, their Metal Blade debut following a lesser-known EP release, is standard for the genre, energetic and forceful, straddling the line between the more brutal American death style and the melodic Gothenburg variety.

Though not groundbreaking, it was considered a fine album by fans. By most accounts, their follow-up, “Bitterness” is more of the same, but 1996’s “Swallow The Snake” takes quite a different approach, dropping the death vocals (and, for the most part, death metal itself), for a more heavy rock sound likened by some to Soundgarden. Having been dropped by Metal Blade, they disappeared but the three members from the “Snake” album recruited a new fourth member and, continuing the progression from that last album, continued on as the grunge rock act Zebulon, releasing at least one EP and one LP.

Stefan Pöge left the band in 1995, thus leading to “Swallow The Snake” being written and recorded without him. This explains the drastic change in style.

After fulfilling their 3-album deal, Desultory left Metal Blade Records, and the band broke up. Håkan, Klas and Thomas continued to play together and eventually formed Zebulon, playing a similar style to that heard on “Swallow The Snake”.


1. Silent Rapture
2. Spineless Kingdom
3. Through Aching Aeons
4. In This Embrace
5. Beneath The Bleeding Sky
6. Slither
7. Divine Blindness
8. Breathing The Ashes
9. Our Departure

Album Details



Album Title

Through Aching Aeons

Street Date


Order Due Date



7% (ends 06/29/2017)




Pulverised Records

Parent Label

MRI Entertainment


CD Longplay

Price Code




Box Lot


Catalog #