In This Moment We Are Free - Cities

Marketing Highlights

  • Vuur's debut album sees Anneke van Giersbergen (The Gathering, The Gentle Storm, Devin Townsend Project) returning to metal!

  • "Days Go By - London," the album's first single, has received 164,000 views to date.

  • Concept video for "My Champion - Berlin" to be released prior to street date.

  • This album, a kind of global travelogue, features writing contributions from members of Amorphis, Anathema and Periphery.

  • Full press/media campaign, with ads in all relevant metal-oriented publications.

  • Touring the globe in late 2017 and 2018.


Dutch vocalist Anneke van Giersbergen is easily one of the hardest working people in music, and an artist that defies being pigeonholed by genre. She will forever be known as the vocalist for melancholic metallers The Gathering, but since striking out on her own in 2007, she has solidified a solo career, recorded and performed multiple times with Canadian metal genius Devin Townsend, launched prog rock band The Gentle Storm (a collaboration with Ayreon leader Arjen Lucassen), and recorded an album with Icelandic folk group Árstíðir. This has provided Anneke with a huge catalogue to choose from as a live performer, but it has also created a certain amount of confusion amongst her fans which has led to the creation of a new band, VUUR, featuring some of the best heavy metal players in the Netherlands.

In early 2016, Anneke decided to hone her musical focus, choosing to go in a folk acoustic direction as a solo artist and in a heavy progressive metal direction as a band vocalist. The name VUUR – translated from Dutch as “fire”, which can also be interpreted to mean “passion” or “drive” – was chosen as a moniker to represent Anneke’s metal side, with the idea that when fans buy a ticket with the VUUR name on it they will be getting her heavy progressive music, while an Anneke van Giersbergen show will be entirely different.

“It’s like I’m searching for contradictions,” Anneke says of splitting her focus in two. “I want the heavy to be really heavy, and the soft acoustic stuff that I can do can be almost silent and inward. I’m trying to find those outer limits. I’m still writing and collaborating with different people, so VUUR’s style is still kind of different from The Gathering and The Gentle Storm. You could say VUUR’s music has the melancholy of The Gathering and certain elements from The Gentle Storm, but it’s darker with fewer folk elements. It’s still melodic and warm, but heavy.”

The Gentle Storm proved to Anneke that fans have been waiting for her to go back to the heavy progressive style of music, which is why VUUR came to be.

VUUR will release their full length debut in the fall of 2017 produced by Joost van den Broek, who will also be involved in some of the writing and arranging. From there the band will hit stages across Europe and beyond. Make no mistake: VUUR is a band and not a project, meaning that Anneke will focus on new material as well as the heavier side of her previous outings.


1. My Champion – Berlin
2. Time – Rotterdam
3. The Martyr and the Saint – Beirut
4. The Fire – San Francisco
5. Freedom – Rio
6. Days Go By – London
7. Sail Away – Santiago
8. Valley of Diamonds – Mexico City
9. Your Glorious Light Will Shine – Helsinki
10. Save Me – Istanbul
11. Reunite! – Paris

For Fans Of

The Gathering
Devin Townsend Project
The Gentle Storm

Home Market

The Netherlands

Album Details



Album Title

In This Moment We Are Free - Cities

Street Date


Order Due Date



7% (ends 10/26/2017)




Inside Out Music

Parent Label

Century Media


CD Longplay

Price Code




Box Lot


Catalog #